Manitoba Police Commission Links

Canadian Association of Police Governance (CAPG)

Canadian Association of Police Governance (CAPG)

Formerly the Canadian Association of Police Boards (CAPB), the Canadian Association of Police Governance (CAPG) was formed in 1989. It is the national body of support for municipal police boards and advocates on issues of national concern. Its membership is composed of representatives from municipal and First Nations police boards/commissions from across Canada.

Manitoba Association of Chiefs of Police (MACP)

Manitoba Association of Chiefs of Police (MACP)

Manitoba Association of Chiefs of Police (MACP) is a management association leading the development of policing in Manitoba and representing police leadership to the public, minister of Justice and the Government of Manitoba.

The goals of the association are:

  • to identify and promote the highest standards of ethics and professional policing practiced in Manitoba
  • to encourage the professional development of members, acknowledging that enhanced skills in public administration, policy development, applied leadership and community development will create more effective Chiefs of Police
  • to establish a forum for members characterized by fellowship, trust, co-operation and liaison
  • to support the work of and maintain a direct relationship with the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP)

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP)

The Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CAPC) is a national organization which draws its membership from Chief Constables and senior administrators of police services from across Canada. Its main focus is to: act as a forum for its members to discuss current issues in policing; review and comment on pending legislative changes affecting their roles and responsibilities; and advocate for efficient and effective practices in the prevention and detection of crime and the apprehension of offenders.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)

Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is the Canadian national police services and an agency of the Ministry of Public Safety Canada. The RCMP is unique in the world as it is a national, federal, provincial and municipal policing body. It provides federal policing service to all Canadian and policing services under contract to the three territories, eight provinces (except Ontario and Quebec), more than 190 municipalities, 184 Aboriginal communities and three international airports.

Civilian Review and Complaints Commission for the RCMP (CRCC)

The Civilian Review and Complaints Commission (CRCC) is an agency independent of the RCMP, established by the federal government to ensure public complaints against members of the RCMP are examined impartially.

Law Enforcement Review Agency (LERA)

Established in 1985 under The Law Enforcement Review Act, The Law Enforcement Review Agency (LERA) is an independent, non-police agency that investigates public complaints about police while performing their jobs. LERA deals only with complaints about municipal or local police incidents. It does not investigate criminal matters.

Police Sector Council

Police Sector Council –

The Police Sector Council is a centre for Human Resource (HR) information, tools and networks. It supports horizontally in policing – a vision of a sector that is informed about HR issues and challenges, integrated in HR planning and management and aligned and networked to improve policing sector-wide. The council consists of volunteer Board of Directors, including sector leaders from police services/agencies, unions, police boards, training institutes, federal/provincial/municipal governments and stakeholder associations.

Manitoba Justice –

Manitoba Justice is responsible for the administration of justice in Manitoba, under the direction of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General. The department provides public safety and security services. The major operating divisions are: Manitoba Prosecutions Service, Courts, Community Safety and Civil Litigation and Advisory Services. Other offices include: Legislative Counsel, Administration, Finance and Justice Innovation, Policy Development and Analysis and Civil Justice.

Municipal Links

Manitoba Police Services

Manitoba Police Boards