About Us

What is the Manitoba Police Commission (MPC)?

On November 15, 2010, portions of The Police Services Act were proclaimed and the MPC was established. On February 9, 2011, nine commissioners were appointed to the MPC and three staff members help the MPC meet their statutory obligations.

MPC Responsibilities

  • provide advice to the Minister of Justice on regulations under The Police Services Act
  • consult with the public on policing issues
  • develop a policy and procedures manual for use by all Manitoba Police Boards
  • develop an ethical code of conduct that all local police boards must abide by
  • arrange training for local police boards
  • assign and receive reports from civilian monitors, who observe independent investigations of police officers
  • conduct studies on issues referred to the MPC by the Minister of Justice

Chair Person

Roberta Graham is the Acting Chair of the Manitoba Police Commission, and is currently the president of the Canadian Registry for Marriage and Family Therapists and is a clinical member of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy. To see all of the Commissioners and their full profiles, visit our Commissioners page.